Sample InfoTrac/LegalTrac Search Result
This is the "Overview" page of the "Searching for Law Journal Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Searching for Law Journal Articles   Tags: catalog, databases, law journal articles, stella, stella+  

Explains how to search for law journal articles in LegalTrac/Info Trac and other databases and to locate links to full-text versions of the articles.
Last Updated: Jun 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.stcl.edu/lawjournalarticles Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Law Reviews and Journals

The terms "law journal" and "law review" are used to denote student edited scholarly publications of law schools. The labels are also used for journals published by legal associations such as the American Bar Association, state and local bar associations, or commercial publishers. In our library we keep:

  • paper editions of all of the ABA accredited law school journals;
  • paper editions of most of the State Bar of Texas Section journals;
  • paper editions of many ABA Section journals;
  • microform versions of most state and local bar journals.

Electronic Databases

 

InfoTrac/LegalTrac (online version of Current Law Index)

The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (indexes articles from 1908 to 1981).

HeinOnline  

 

Paper

 

Before the advent of computer indexes to journal articles, the paper versions of the Current Law Index, call number K 33. C87 (Gale), and the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, call number K 33 .I3622 (The H. W. Wilson Company), were the major search tools.  Our library still maintains current subcriptions to both of these publications on the second floor low reference shelves.

The Index to Legal Periodicals & Books is also historical. The first volume was copyrighted in 1888 and sought to index all the literature on law and legislation in the English Language prior to 1887. The editor, Leonard A. Jones, A.B.,LL.B. (HARV.) puts the following quote on the title page: "index-learning turns no student pale, Yet holds the eel of science by the tail. POPE: Dunciad."  For legal literature prior to 1908, it is still necessary to use the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books.

 

Jessica R. Alexander, J.D., M.L.S.

Stella Plus

Our STELLAPLUS search platform allows users to discover both paper and electronic materials simultaneously.  This comprehensive layer seamlessly connects most of important databases. Users can choose between basic and advanced searching.  At any time the search can be narrowed by type of material, dates and exclusion of sources like newspapers and dissertations.

 

      

    Link Directly to These Journal Search Databases

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip